22 SEPTEMBER 2016 (Toronto, ON) – Singer-songwriter and multi-platinum recording artistShawn Mendes will release his brand-new album Illuminate to fans this Friday (September 23), via Island Records / Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Illuminatefeatures Shawn’s platinum-selling lead single Treat You Better, and the recently releasedMercy, Ruin, Three Empty Words, and Don’t Be A Fool” which are available immediately upon pre-ordering the album. The official video for “Mercy” premiered yesterday on VEVO.

In celebration of this highly-anticipated release, it was announced by Shawn this week that Toronto fans will get a chance to partake in the “Illuminate Toronto” pop-up shop at 277 Queen Street West today (Thursday, September 22), the day before the album is out. All fans who show up to the shop between 5-10 p.m. will have the opportunity to pre-order the album and purchase exclusive merchandise, while supplies last, as well as listen to Illuminate before it is released.

The first 30 fans to arrive by 5 p.m. and buy a pre-order of the album on-site will get tickets and a meet-and-greet with Shawn at the #IlluminateToronto event at The Great Hall on Saturday, October 1, and the next 50 fans will get tickets only. Fans who cannot attend the pop-up shop can visit Shawn’s online store at

The #IlluminateToronto event on Saturday, October 1 will be a “win to get in” event for a select group of lucky fans that have won their tickets through various contesting opportunities. In a small venue with a capacity of just under 500 people, fans will get a chance to see Shawn perform songs from the new album in an intimate setting – a rarity for the arena-filling performer.

Earlier this month Shawn announced his first-ever headlining area world tour for 2017. The 44 announced Illuminate World Tour dates will kick off in the U.K. on April 27, running through August 23 in Boston, MA with many more dates yet to be announced in North America and globally. The North American leg of the arena tour will begin July 6 and will make stops in Vancouver and Montreal in Canada, and in major cities across the U.S. including a night at Los Angeles’ Staples Center. Shawn recently come off his sold-out Shawn Mendes World Tour surrounding the success of his platinum #1 debut album Handwritten.

Illuminate Tracklisting:

1. Ruin
2. Mercy
3. Treat You Better
4. Three Empty Words
5. Don’t Be A Fool
6. Like This
7. No Promises
8. Lights On
9. Honest
10. Patience
11. Bad Reputation
12. Understand
13. Hold On (Bonus Track)
14. Roses (Bonus Track)
15. Mercy (Acoustic Version – Bonus Track)

Leave a Reply